Posted in getting in

The countdown begins

Listen

Well, fall grades are in, first TEAS V attempt is logged, spring enrollment has been forwarded and now I’m just waiting. I’m pretty confident about my GPA once my audit is updated and one of my two Bs gets replaced with one of my 3 As from the pre-requisite requirements. I should land in the 3.8 to 3.9 range with 7 As and 1 B. My TEAS is an average 334 points once composites are added together (that’s how my first choice school rolls). I get the extra point for having an Undergrad from the state of Florida.

Truth be told, while I’m not overly worried about the inevitable interview (I am at least competitive for that!), I am concerned about my TEAS score. After years working in the public sector, I’ve had my fair share of new positions and interviews. I’m pretty good at getting my interest and passion across simply by just being myself and knowing myself. But the TEAS weighs so heavily in the decision process (35% of decision) that you want to do very well on it. Afterall, there are some smart cookies out there.

It seems silly that a dream can be held up for something so simple as a test. All that time, energy, blood sweat and tears wasted on a test! Yet still, I continue to fight for a spot.

I’m finding solace in reading about the nursing profession today; specifically, I’m finding very interesting stories about what Universities and the profession are doing to recruit minority students: men and ethnic minorities. It is so very interesting. As a black woman myself, married to a man who identifies as white and mother of our interracial son, minority is something I identify with and am hoping to diminish once I become a nurse.

Now, that isn’t to say that is my mission, nor is it anything I am particularly soap-boxy about, but I do have a dream of getting more African American mothers to nurse, and advancing African American ethnicity in the medical field. I don’t too often see any individuals in the field that I identify with personally on a cultural level, although having grown up in predominantly white neighborhoods and schools, I’ve not truly narrowed my culture to “black”. More often, I identify with “human”. I remember feeling so excited when a short black woman entered the delivery room when my niece was born and introduced herself as “doctor”. Why did that shock me so? Why is it less shocking to see a male or white doctor? These are the types of questions that beg attention to the reality that there is an underrepresentation for whatever reason. I tend to think that reason is not knowing your potential.

Anyhow, even more reason to raise my TEAS score.

I’m scheduled to take a second attempt soon and am praying I can pull myself up to at least 350. Considering the mistakes I made were just silly mistakes and not knowledge gaps, I think it is possible to do so.

Nursing school is not for the faint of heart, but neither is trying to get in it!

Leave a Reply

